Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Hey y’all, it’s a banned books free-for-all

2 Comments

I say “y’all” because Bridge to Terabithia is frequently challenged and it takes place in rural Virginia, not far from where I grew up.  Although I had to look up how to spell y’all so I feel like a poor excuse for a Virginian.

Check out Forever Young Adult for “The True Story of How Books Ruined Our Lives,” to read more about Terabithia and (oddly enough) Where’s Waldo.

The Rejectionist and Tahereh are reviewing their favorite banned books and they invited some friends to join them.  Here’s the list of participating blogs, hanging out on Tahereh’s page.

Dystel and Goderich’s blog had a Guardian link about page99test.com, which basically says the quality of an entire book can be ascertained from reading page 99.

Interesting .  When I get all my beta notes back and my revisions taken care of, maybe I’ll post my 99.  Or maybe I’ll spend a frenzied weekend, reading page 99 of every book I own.

Writer’s Digest has “9 Must-Follow Manuscript Rules.”

Also on WD, info about the Sixth “Dear Lucky Agent” Contest, this one is for paranormal romance and urban fantasy (YA and Adult)

Contests:

American Short Fiction is having a short story contest

Giveaways:

Adventures in Children’s Publishing (which has an awesome segment each Monday that spotlights new releases) is giving away these books this week (contest ends Friday):

Brain Jack by Brian Falkner

Where the Truth Lies by Jessica Warman

The Demon King (paperback) and The Exiled Queen (hardback), both by Cinda Williams Chima

Coffey. Tea. And Literary is giving away two middle-grade books:

Taking the Reins by Alison Hart (it’s a choose-your-own-adventure…ah…happy memories of my 80’s childhood)

Samantha Hansen Has Rocks in Her Head by Nancy Viau

One final note: If you’re in the Princeton, NJ area on October 3 at 4pm, stop by the JCC of Princeton and watch a screening of the documentary “21 Below.”  One of the creators/producers graduated from my alma mater and even though I can’t make it to Jersey that day, I want to get the word out because I like supporting those local people that are living the creative life.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

2 thoughts on “Hey y’all, it’s a banned books free-for-all

  1. Hi Jennifer–have fun reading Taking the Reins (and pretend you are eight years old again). I live in the Shenandoah Valley as well–near Staunton. It’s always fun to find other readers/bloggers/writers in the area. I’d love to send you my young YA Whirlwind (unless you hate mystery and horses!)

  2. Hey Alison, I would love to read it! My library has Shadow Horse, so I’m gonna check it out this week to get up to speed on the story 🙂 You can send me an email at jenpickrell@gmail.com.

    And it’s great to “meet” you – I’m about an hour and a half away from Staunton.

Leave a Reply

