Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Secret Reader Girl

Leave a comment

(set to the tune of Secret Agent Man)

“Going to kindergarten and reading them a book…”

Okay, technically it’s called a “mystery” reader, but that didn’t work with my cheesy song interpretation.

So I get to be a “mystery” guest in one of the kindergarten classrooms at a local elementary school.  It’s one day only, so I’ve gotta pick a book that will wow their little socks off.  And, no, I’m not sure what’s so mysterious about it, except most of the other readers are teachers/parents, so the kids might be able to guess who’s coming beforehand.  A friend suggested I go in wearing a ninja outfit to really play up the mystery.  I figure a random stranger with a book is excitement enough. 

I can remember being that age and loving story-time.  My elementary school library had this little area that we called “the pit.”

Let’s see how poorly I can describe it.

It was in the corner of the library, which was in the middle of the school – no doors, just some partition walls and there was that ugly greenish utility carpet (this was the 80’s).  The top level of the pit was the same level as the rest of the floor and it was shaped maybe hexagon-ish (think bleachers at summer camp around the campfire).  There were two or three lower platforms that went down, into an open space (pit) in the middle.  The librarian would sit at the top, on one side of the pit, with her back to the wall, and we would all lounge in various parts of the pit, completely transfixed.

Sadly, the school I’m reading at is not the same school and I’ll most likely be sitting in a chair, although I’ll probably opt for the floor instead.

Now I just need to find the *perfect* book.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

