Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

All about YA

2 Comments

I’m a big fan of books in general.  If you suggest it, I will read it.  (well, usually)

But I do favor certain genres over others – namely, I *heart* YA fiction and realistic fiction. 

Add the two together and I’m giddy.

So I’m completely thrilled that YA realistic fiction seems to be on the upswing (and this thrilledness is doubled because my WIP, which is hanging out with betas, is realistic YA, and maybe I’ll actually, accidentally be a part of a trend).  Yes, I know thrilledness isn’t a word, but I’m kinda liking it.

And I’m kinda liking that my search for three betas ended up with me having not three, not four…not even five…but SEVEN betas.  Holy crap!

(now let’s just hope I don’t get conflicting advice from all of them…hah)

Anyway, I’m basing my prediction on several things.

#1 – the Contemps – take the challenge…do it…do it….

#2 – this awesome post by agent Sarah LaPolla

While loving a vampire or werewolf or other random creature is maybe a little cool, I’ll take a real, nerdy, flawed guy any day.  Ordinary trumps the threat of being maimed/devoured/drained by your beloved.

And winning free stuff trumps everything!

(kudos for my clunky segway)

YA Highway is giving away a copy of Blue Fire by Janice Hardy and a copy of A Blue So Dark by Holly Schindler.

Michelle Hodkin is giving away an ARC of Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl and a signed copy of The Eternal Ones by Kirsten Miller.

Some thoughts to ponder…EW posed the question:

“What young adult novel should Hollywood adapt next?”

 Now go forth, ponder, enter to win, and have a great weekend!

^I mean this literally

P.S. Congrats to Sangu on getting an agent!

P.P.S. read a banned book this weekend!  And give a little thanks to Judith Krug who worked so hard for book freedom (read the last three paragraphs especially, parents really do have influence).

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

2 thoughts on “All about YA

  1. Yay! Thank you so much for the shout out!

    I agree with you. While I love a good dose of the paranormal, sometimes it’s nice to just read about a normal, ordinary, flawed, great guy who doesn’t want to eat or kill you!

  2. I’m super happy, too, that realistic fiction is on the rise. (Not just because I write it!)

Leave a Reply

