Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Guest Post with Sherry Ficklin + Giveaway

9 Comments

I’m happy to welcome Sherry Ficklin, the author of the Gods of Fate trilogy.  One lucky commenter will win a signed copy of Foresight, the first book in the series, and a second lucky winner will get a book tote with some very cool swag inside.

**See bottom of post for how to enter**

Attacked at her graduation by a mysterious woman and her gruesome henchmen, Grace was lucky to escape with her life. Rescued by her Aunt Phoenix and a Fae warrior named Chris, Grace is confronted by the startling truth about her heritage. Her mother was the Greek Goddess Pandora. Now it has fallen to Grace to protect her mother’s box from the crazed Demi-Goddess Lilith, who is determined to use it to unleash hell on Earth. As if her bizarre blood legacy wasn’t enough, Grace has begun developing frightening new powers that threaten to destroy her from the inside out. In a world where nothing is what she thought it would be, can Grace find the strength to defeat Lilith and learn to control her powers before she loses her mind?

My fav character in the book was Phoenix and wouldn’t you know it, I snagged an interview. 

Read on:

Hi Phoenix, I’m very excited that I have this opportunity to interview you…although I’m a tad intimidated because you could kick my butt without much effort.  So I’ve gotta ask:

     1. Do you work out regularly or were you born much stronger than weak, human me?

I try to keep fit, though my stamina, speed, and strength are naturally better than humans. Because our metabolisms run so slowly, we train constantly to keep in top form.  I will say that Grace dragged me to a cardio-kickboxing class once and I wanted to pummel the instructor. I HATE it when they take a perfectly good sport like kickboxing and water it down for ‘ladies’.

     2. Speaking of being born…I know it’s not polite to ask a lady her age, but I did kinda hear you were almost 2,000 years old.  How long is your life expectancy?  And what happens when you get really, really old?  Your wings don’t fall off or anything, do they?

Ha, ha! No.  The Fae are nearly immortal. However, after a while, there are ways to end your existence, if one desires to do so.  (and not all Fae have wings, a bit of a sensitive subject actually.) I have decided though that the more time I spend with Grace, the faster my life expectancy plummets. I love that girl, but she is a MAGNET for trouble.

     3. At the risk of sounding like a shrink, tell me about your childhood, including the origins of your name.  You were named after the bird, right?  

The details of my life are quite inconsequential… very well, where do I begin? My father was a relentlessly self-improving boulangerie owner from Belgium with low grade narcolepsy and a penchant for buggery. My mother was a fifteen year old French prostitute named Chloe with webbed feet. My father would womanize, he would drink. He would make outrageous claims like he invented the question mark. Sometimes he would accuse chestnuts of being lazy. The sort of general malaise that only the genius possess and the insane lament.

Sorry. Slipped into my Dr. Evil speech there for a minute. Where was I? Oh, my name. Well, the symbol of the Phoenix represents the balance of all things, life and death. I was actually born on a battlefield during the First Great War. My father said my birth was “life rising from the ashes of destruction”, hence the name.  My parents were fierce warriors and were killed when I was very young. As it is for any noble born Fae, I was raised at the Palace, studied with tutors, trained with guards, and grew up at the knees of some of our greatest rulers.  I was just over 50 when I took my first journey to the mortal world.

     4. You’ve been living among regular ol’ people for awhile now and no one’s noticed that you’re not quite the same.  How do you keep your fighting/weaponry skills in check?  When you’re at the grocery store and someone cuts you off with their cart, are you ever tempted to shove them into a canned foods display or to use a bag of potatoes as a weapon?

Humans tend to see only what they want to see, which is both a gift and a handicap. I’ve never used a bag of potatoes as a weapon, but I’ve REALLY wanted to on occasion. And, I teach fencing and mixed martial arts. (gotta pay the bills somehow, right?)

     5. While we’re on the subject of weapons…do you have a favorite weapon?  You don’t have any weapons with you at the moment, do you?

I AM the weapon. (laughs) No, at the moment I am quite weaponless. Of course, in my current position- oh, but you don’t know about any of that yet, do you? *grins* My favorite weapons are the Halberd and, when dealing with Grace, a Nerf crossbow.

     6. Grace thinks of you as one of those rare people that truly don’t care what other people think about you.  Is this true and how do you do it?

I suppose there are a few people I respect enough to care what they think of me, but not many. I believe that how one sees oneself is what’s important. How you see yourself is what determines your actions and thus, is what makes you who you are.

     7. You’re so calm under pressure – what sorts of relaxation techniques do you use and what do you do for fun in your spare time?

I do focused meditation and deep breathing exercises. To really relax I like to swim laps, chop wood, and hike. Anything that gets me focused on something outside myself. Oh, and I may have a very minor WoW addiction. Though Hermes just turned me on to HALO, which I’m loving right now too.

     8. (sorry, this really has nothing to do with you, Phoenix, but I have to know): Is Hermes as awesome as I think he is?  Is he seeing anyone?  I’m asking for a friend, not me!

Hermes is one of the few Olympians who is both entertaining and totally trustworthy.  I will say that if you ever receive an invitation to one of his famous “Vegas trips”, go. Just go. It’s the most fun you can have and not end up in prison (hopefully).

And he’s a chronic bachelor, though he does have the random fling (usually with Nymphs). He’s just a really good guy.  Think George Clooney, only HOT, and on a surfboard. That’s Hermes.

     9. Finally, what’s up with you and Lynx?  Those wistful, stolen glances were not lost on me.  Is it something tragic   that’s gonna make me cry?  Am I asking too much?  If you can’t tell me now, will you tell me later????

Lynx is, well was, my first love. There were…issues… that kept us apart. But I’m optimistic. (grins) All good things come to those who wait, right?

Learn more about Sherry and her books at: http://www.sherryficklin.com/

And if you have any questions for Phoenix, leave them below!

**Contest rules**

(sorry, U.S. only for this one)

+1 for commenting

+1 for following the blog (RSS feed is fine)

+1 for blogging/Tweeting about the contest (you don’t have to post the links, I trust ya!)

(So you can get a total of three entries, tally up the total in your comment)

Contest ends Thursday, October 7 at 11:59pm and I’ll announce the winners the next day.

Any questions, just ask!

P.S. I am going to a book fest this weekend, so I may have some more books to give away in the next few weeks!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

9 thoughts on “Guest Post with Sherry Ficklin + Giveaway

  1. Thank you for the giveaway!

    +1 for commenting

    +1 for following the blog

    +1 for Tweeting

  2. I’ve heard great things about this book. I’d love to read it.

  3. My fave character is also Phoenix, I love her himor coupled with her love and strength for Grace. She is a character I can relate with so I was very happy to read the interview, Way to go!

  4. I think this sounds like a good book. I had not heard of it before so thanks for sharing! seescootread[at]gmail[dot]com

  5. +1 Commentt~~
    +1 GFC following (:

    Thanks for the great giveaway! (:

  6. Sounds like an interesting book!

    +1 for commenting

    a(dot)long(at)tcu(dot)edu

  7. This book sounds amazing. I’d love to read it. Great giveaway!

    +1 for commenting
    +1 for following
    +1 for tweeting

  8. Oh wow! I’m a big fan of Greek mythology so this is definitely something I need to read.

    +1 Follower

  9. Pingback: Last day to enter the Foresight giveaway | A Can of Corn or Something

Leave a Reply

