Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

I don’t need a random number generator, I need a random blog post title generator

Leave a comment

*Generator, my title please!*

Win some books:

YA Highway is giving away a copy of Personal Demons by Lisa Desrochers (ends tonight at midnight)

Pop over to See Heather Write for a recap of the Decatur Book Festival + a chance to win a signed copy of Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce or a signed copy of Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway.

Kirsten Hubbard is giving away an ARC of her book Like Mandarin (pubs this March)

Here’s a chance to win signed copy of Foresight by Sherry Ficklin*

And hopefully this link will work, even if you don’t have a Facebook – Bloomsbury Teens is giving away a copy of Hush by Eishes Chayil.

Some stuff to make you think:

Great post by agent Nathan Bransford about seeing your book cover for the first time. 

This post by Jessica Faust at BookEnds makes me wonder if agents ever sleep.

Forever Young Adult really is made from the best stuff on earth (sorry, Snapple, you lose):

What’s missing in YA lit these days?

^I cringed at the summer camp mention because I loathed summer camp with the fire of a hundred suns.  Maybe I should write a book titled: I loathed summer camp.  Probably because the camp I went to for…oh, probably every summer for six year…was like five miles from my house and I was all, “why do I have to sleep in these hot dorm rooms and share a bathroom with 15 other people?  Can’t I just go home and come back whenever?”

But thumbs up to transition to college storylines.  Although I never actually lived in a dorm…maybe my book can be all about my awesome community college, my hour-commute to “big people college” (as one of my co-workers used to call it) and finally my grad-school distance learning, hunched over a computer at 1 am when I have to work in a few hours adventure.

Crap, there really does need to be some transition books, I want to read them, my college experience is so dull.

Random:

Hallmark is having a contest, looking for funny cards inspired by your job, co-workers or the show, the Office.  Again…random.

*Sherry will be stopping by this here blog next Thursday, the 23rd, as part of her blog tour.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

Leave a Reply

