Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Hey, it’s a blog about blogging!

2 Comments

On Monday, I was reading the blogs I follow and Sangu was talking about why she blogged and I started thinking about why I did.

This is what I commented on her post:

I started blogging partially because it was what writers were supposed to do and partially because I was in a bit of a writing block and wanted to switch things up. I’m a very introverted person, so blogging was very “out there” and gave me an opening to talk to other writers.

As the day wore on and I worked at my paying job, I started thinking more about this subject and decided to write a little bloggy blog post about it.

Like I said above, blogging gives me the opportunity to interact and I don’t feel quite so lurkery if I can say, “hey look, I’m blogging too, I’m a fixture, not just a drive-by commenter.”

Although I still probably do quite a bit of lurking because I don’t want to be “that” person, the one that comments all the time.

(it’s a vicious cycle)

I also wanted to be in the thick of things, so to speak.  I’ve been writing for years, but had never made any kind of effort to learn about the industry or try to get published, so I needed to find my way in…granted, I don’t really *need* a blog to do that, but I feel more connected for some reason.  What’s that old saying, in for a penny, in for a pound?  I decided to jump into the deep end instead of playing it safe in the shallows. 

Then there was that whole blocked thing.  I don’t want to say writer’s block, because I was still writing, but I was feeling a bit stagnant.  Everything I was writing was kinda running together for me, so blogging forced me to step outside of my comfort zone and talk about myself, not just live vicariously through my characters.

 Now, to end this musing, here’s one of the most important things blogging has taught me:

 What an agent is/does.

 Plus, agents are real people, nice people, even, not scary looming shadows sitting in penthouses in NYC.

 Who’da thought?

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

2 thoughts on “Hey, it’s a blog about blogging!

  1. I started blogging somewhat under duress, because I kept hearing that you *have* to do it to make connections in the writing/publishing industry. I think being a somewhat shy person, the idea of broadcasting myself over the internet freaked me out. After a month or two–I found I really liked it. It is a good way to meet other people and have random, unexpected, fulfilling interactions. I’m glad you started your blog!

Leave a Reply

