Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Localness

1 Comment

So I just remembered that the National Book Festival in D.C. is coming up on September 25.  And guess what?  I live near D.C!

Last year I remembered that I wanted to go to the Festival at about four in the afternoon…I was a little late (I think it was over at 5:30).

But this year the date is going on my calendar and hopefully I will make it out to meet some authors….and buy way too many books.

I’ve got to do my whole “planning” thing later and plan my Book Fest day.  I love to plan things.  Sometimes I think I like the actual planning more than the actual application.  Last time I went on a vacation, I packed the days full of things to do.  I had a time table, people!

I made myself miserable because I wasn’t actually vacationing.

Oddly enough, I’m not much of a planner when it comes to writer – I get an idea and sit down and type like mad.  I have a general idea of where I’m going, but my characters just sorta do what they feel like as they try to settle into their skins.

Moving on…

So I mentioned before that I’m doing the Contemps Challenge.  I emailed all my local librarians and asked, “Hey you gonna get any of these here books?”

And although I’m kinda sad only one librarian emailed me back with an answer, it was an awesome answer:

I have placed those three titles on order for our library. I see that two of them have already been released and it will be a week or two before they arrive here. While we will probably not be able to order all the books in this challenge we appreciate the recommendations and are happy to make these available to you and the rest of our patrons once they arrive.

So I’ve been hovering around the online catalog since I got the email last week.  FYI, the books she’s talking about are the first three on the list, the ones that came out/are coming out this month.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

One thought on “Localness

  1. Oooh this sounds fun! I love book festivals, I always end up buying too many books and finding the most amazing stuff!

Leave a Reply

