Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What the @! is that noise?

Leave a comment

Yesterday I spent a lazy day in bed doing some edits to a WIP.  Several times a weird noise came out of my laptop.  And it just happened again.

It sounds almost like a bug trapped inside and I’m convinced that at any moment something is going to hatch and eat me.

I hope that doesn’t happen.  I’ve got lots to do this week.

Gotta get some paid work time in (yes, I labor on Labor Day, I’m so very committed).

Mostly I gotta get some time in because my contract expires Wednesday at midnight and then I am officially jobless.  I’ve been looking for a job since I finished grad school over a year ago.  Apparently a job has not been looking for me.  But off to staffing agencies on Thursday because bad money is better than no money.

Tomorrow I may check out this new book club thingy at the local library where we sit around and talk about books and books we should be reading – because, ya know, I don’t already have a trillion books on my TBR list

I also need to find some beta readers for my YA WIP.  I started this book about eight years ago (give or take).  I wrote a rough draft in a few days and I was very pleased with myself.  Then my laptop died.  Completely and totally died – the entire OS.

I had NOT backed up my file!

I was so crushed it took me a long time to even attempt to start it again.  But I did and of course it was better.

It’s been sitting for awhile and when I reread it over the weekend I was surprised it wasn’t as rough as I remembered it being.  So of course I’m jolly pleased with myself.

But I should stop rambling and get to work.

Randomness of the day – I was watching the Sound of Music on TV last night (yeah, that’s right, I watch the SOM, that’s how I roll) and now I have that goatherd song stuck in my head.   And truth be told, I’m a little creeped out by marionettes so this randomness is not as awesome as it would seem.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

Leave a Reply

