Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

My Back-to-School and Learn Some Stuff Book List

Leave a comment

Okay, so it’s September and that means back to school (well, not for me, but you know what I mean).  I had great fun/success with SummySeries, so I’ve decide to continue on with themes.

As if reading isn’t fun enough as it is, now it’s like quadruple fun!  Double-rainbow times infinity fun!

Anyway, what does school mean?

1. Learning some stuff

Not too long ago, I was lured into trying that “I Write Like” author generator thingy and it said my blog was like David Foster Wallace.  I have never read anything of his so the first book on my list is:

David Foster Wallace – Infinite Jest

2. Doing stuff you don’t want to do

Everyone has those books that they’ve never been able to get through.  Two of mine are:

Truman Capote – In Cold Blood

Jack Kerouac – On the Road

Must be something about the titles starting with a preposition…j/k

I don’t know if I’ll be able to handle both books, so I’ll leave it to chance – whichever one I happen to see first at the library…or maybe I’ll see some kind of sign, like Phillip Seymour Hoffman will be on TV or someone will randomly quote Allen Ginsberg to me (how cool would that be?)

3. Extracurricular activities

This has been on my TBR list forever and it’s about high school football, so there that is.  Note: I am completely uncoordinated and have never played organized sports in my life.

Friday Night Lights by H.G. Bissenger

4. Hanging with your friends

Also on my TBR list:

Geektastic by Holly Black and Cecil Castellucci

5. Rebelling.  Because what the hell else are ya gonna do in school?

Banned Books Week is September 25-October 2, 2010 and I have that goal of mine to read all those books on my banned book list.

I used a random number generator and it gave me 8, but I don’t think I can read a 3-book series in a week, so I tried again and the winner is…

The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big, Round Things, by Carolyn Mackler!

I tend to read YA pretty quickly, so I’m gonna pick a few more, just in case (and, yes, I’m cheating, hitting generate until I get something that isn’t a million pages long):

Mick Harte was Here by Barbara Park

Rainbow Boys by Alex Sanchez

So there it is.  If I manage to get through all these books before the month is over, then it’s just a TBR free-for-all!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

