Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

I’ve seen the lumos!

Leave a comment

Contrary to popular belief I didn’t shun Harry Potter before.  I’d seen (and enjoyed) several of the movies, I just hadn’t gotten around to reading the books.

This summer I made it my goal and I borrowed all seven books from one of my brothers (both my brothers own the entire set, that right there should have told me they rocked).

Holy crap!

What has taken me so long???

Although probably better that I did wait, otherwise I would have spazzed out as I waited for the next one to come out.

Hmm…what to discuss without giving anything away…

I loved the Weasley twins from the beginning – one of my friends found them an odd choice for my favorite characters, but they were smart, funny, loyal and tough.  Ginny really grew on me, too, especially during/after Book 5.

And Neville – liked him from the beginning, so proud of him as the series went on.

I went out and bummed the movies off of family members so I could re-watch them all with a new perspective.  It’s fun to point out things I thought should have been included.

I want a Patronus, damnit, like a cougar or a tiger or a dinosaur or something.  I took this quiz and it told me mine would be a badger.  Not sure how I feel about being a weasel.  A Weasley maybe, but not a weasel. 

And I need a Pensieve.  Once I get back from hanging out in others’ memories, I will then use the Star Trek replicator I also long for and order some lunch.  Maybe some butterbeer, although some of these recipes sound revolting. 

Now I have the overwhelming desire to hurl British insults at people and to use British slang and spells in an over-the-top, out-of-control manner.

-Scene opens in the kitchen-

Me: Why didn’t you do the dishes like I asked?

Husband:  Uh…dunno?  Forgot?

Me: Stupid git!

Husband:  Sorry, I’ll make it up to you.

Me: Stop, stop, I’m in no mood for snogging, I’m doing the dishes.  Damn the limits of my Muggle powers!

*I run outside and return, pointing a branch at the mess*

Me: Scourgify!

Husband: What are you doing?

Me: Shut up, you prat!  Silencio!

-And scene-

Fun thing:

Name 200 characters

^Even taking it immediately after looking at all the names doesn’t help me.  I can’t get more than 115 or so.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

