Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

My creativity is hiding today, no blog title comes to mind

1 Comment

Ooohh…I like learning things and Agent Sarah LaPolla has a post about avoiding Mary Sues.  Mary Whos?  Right, if you were just as clueless as me, check it out, learn some stuff, it’s all good fun.

Also from the same blog, a link to Mother.Rinse.(Repeat.) – a contest to name a WIP (cool prizes for the winner!).  The ms is currently called Bob.  I’m pleased by this.

Agent Mary Kole has a vlog about avoiding stereotypes  in YA writing.  She uses a Rubik’s Cube to illustrate her point and she has mad skillz (with a “z” even).  Vlog has got to be one of the most satisfying words to say.  Ever.  It’s like flogging Vlad the Impaler. 

This I equate with the mythical land of quadruple rainbows and travelling via Falcor:

From a Writer’s Digest blog: How to Ensure 75% of Agents Will Request Your Material.

^Is this guy the only one with this success rate?  Is it a fluke or does he speak the truth?

On the local front, Green Valley Book Fair in Mt. Crawford VA taking place August 21 – September 6

And finally, the thing I’m most excited about – the Contemps!  I love to read YA and I love to read contemporary fiction…and I love book lists and book suggestions and…

Well, you get the point.  Go check it out!

Meanwhile, I’ll be hanging out over the rainbow with Atreyu while Hagrid takes care of Falcor.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

One thought on “My creativity is hiding today, no blog title comes to mind

  1. OMG, a 75% request rate? Is this guy insane or just high? seriously.

Leave a Reply

