Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Happy Bad Poetry Day!

Leave a comment

I can’t believe I’m about to do this, but here are some *gems* I came up with once upon a time (ode to those painful early teen years):

All the dreams
I used to wish for
when I was little
now seem to distant
Everyday means changes
Never knowing what to expect
Nothing will ever be the same
The same, yet very different
Looking back on those
forgotten days
How wistful we were

-Age 14

^I used the word wistful?  Seriously? 

Too Late

We spent so much time
I loved you from the moment
I first saw you
Although you did not feel the
same I still love you
Will all my heart, I did
Then your heart of ice
started to melt
You confessed your love to me
I cried
Too much time had passed
I no longer loved you
I could not lie to you
So I told you the truth
You died a man with a broken
heart
Broken from me
I had loved you unselfishly
If only you had told me sooner
You would be here and I
wouldn’t ache for you
As I do now

-age 13

Um…where do I even start? 

The breaks in lines are owed more to the fact I ran out of room on the notebook paper on which I was scribbling than on any sort of poetic device.  

“Ache?”  Yeah…‘nuff said.

And did I have a great epic love at age 13 that I forgot about?  Am I some sort of tragic heroine from Shakespeare?  Ugh…

I’m going to crawl into a hole and hide in shame.

Enjoy your day and make sure to wax poetic!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

