Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Fluffy’s Wrath

Leave a comment

August 17, 2002

Fluffy* is out to get me. Last night, my fortune cookie was stale. I realized this as I went to snap it open, but it instead kinda mushed apart. I read my fortune. Unfortunately, I forget it, b/c the second I set the cookie on the table to read it, Fluffy strolls from her perch in the window sill, over to my cookie. She gives me this look…then proceeds to attack half of the cookie, devouring a small chunk. She then leaves the carnage, before giving me another look and retreating. I guess she went for this angle b/c I was drinking bottled water and her evil little face wouldn’t fit through the mouth hole.

*The name of the cat has been changed to protect ME.  She’s one of my friend’s cats and this tormentor feline has not mellowed with age.  So it’s very odd that she holds a special place in my heart…what does that say about me?

Here’s a similar story a few weeks later, August 26, 2002:

I was sitting at Meg’s table, drinking my glass of water, when Fluffy strolls over to it and threateningly makes a move to lick the top. Meg ponders, “I wonder if she would actually drink it, if we fill it all the way to the top.”

So, the glass is filled and set down in front of me. As I reach for it, Fluffy springs on it, slurping up water like it was going out of style.

And, this continues…

…and continues.

Meg and I stared in amazement that she didn’t just float away.

Most of the time, she kept an eye on me, waiting for me to grab the glass. I attempted one move and she took a step back, but was undeterred.

Finally, she waddled away.

Fluffy – 1 , Jen – 0

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

Leave a Reply

