Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

My wonky train of thought starts with a paperclip and ends with Fraggles

Leave a comment

I was checking out posts from my local freecycling group and someone was giving away a toddler bed.  The problem with the post was that the title said simply:

Offer – Toddler

Of course I clicked on it, not that I’m looking for a toddler, but I wondered if the mods had temporarily lost their minds.

(they hadn’t)

The post made me start thinking about odd things that have sold online (I’ve heard that people on eBay have auctioned an imaginary friend, a cornflake shaped like Illinois…and didn’t some woman try to auction off her virginity?)

Maybe Corn reader, Ian, can sell his freaky tomato:

And THEN (see, this is how my mind works), I started thinking about that guy, I call him “Red Paperclip Guy” who started with a red paperclip and ended up with a house.  He’s even got his own Wikipedia article!  (that means you have officially made it in the world).  I like how there’s a pic of the paperclip with the caption that it’s THE paperclip, as if anyone would know the difference.

Now, further randomness:

The how did I not know about this before this week moment:

There’s a Smurfs movie coming out next summer.

Why must every cartoon I watched as a kid turn into a movie?  G.I. Joe, the Transformers, The Smurfs…

A-ha!  On a whim I just looked up Thundercats and it looks as though it might be a big budget movie in the next year or two.  Same with He-Man.

And Fraggle Rock: The Movie, set for 2012.

Why is my childhood being regurgitated onto the big screen???

Okay, done with my freak-out.

I leave you with my laugh of the week:

Improv Everywhere’s Ghostbusters library reenactment.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

