Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Review of Foresight by Sherry Ficklin

2 Comments

Summary:

 

Attacked at her graduation by a mysterious woman and her gruesome henchmen, Grace was lucky to escape with her life. Rescued by her Aunt Phoenix and a Fae warrior named Chris, Grace is confronted by the startling truth about her heritage. Her mother was the Greek Goddess Pandora. Now it has fallen to Grace to protect her mother’s box from the crazed Demi-Goddess Lilith, who is determined to use it to unleash hell on Earth. As if her bizarre blood legacy wasn’t enough, Grace has begun developing frightening new powers that threaten to destroy her from the inside out. In a world where nothing is what she thought it would be, can Grace find the strength to defeat Lilith and learn to control her powers before she loses her mind?

Review:

All hail Greek mythology!

I gotta say first off that I’m one of those people that never quite understood mythology.  All I knew was that there was a mountain and Zeus and some other gods.  The rest of it, I just kinda went, “whatever…”

But what did Miss Anti-Mythology find herself doing while reading “Foresight?”  That’s right, I was looking stuff up, soaking up info with gusto.   I couldn’t help myself!

Grace was relatable – she didn’t whine and freak out, but she wasn’t all cool and smooth.  She was a normal teenage girl who’d been hit by a mega amount of info and was coping the best way she could.  Overwhelmed at some points, excited in others, curious, angry, etc, etc. 

And her aunt, Phoenix, is completely kick-ass – brave and stubborn.  I think she was my favorite character and I can’t wait for the second book when I find about more about the connection between her and Lynx.  I’m already imagining the possibilities and I think I may have a crush on Lynx.

I really enjoyed the idea of gods taking human form and helping out.  My personal favorite – Hermes.  If this is really what Hermes is like, we are so hanging out.  And I’m kicking Apollo’s pompous butt.

But my favorite thing about this book?  I learned stuff.  That sounds so nerdy, but I loved that I was being introduced to all these gods and stories I’d never really paid attention to before.  Ms. Ficklin made mythology seem so interesting and you know what?  It really is!

Read more about Foresight and Sherry Ficklin at: www.sherryficklin.com

And check out A Can of Corn on September 23 when Ms. Ficklin will be stopping by on her blog tour

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

2 thoughts on “Review of Foresight by Sherry Ficklin

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed it!!

  2. This is a COOL book!!!! Love it!

Leave a Reply

