Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

That not so fresh feeling

5 Comments

Betsy Lerner has a term to describe generic book covers:  a Massengill cover.  Read the entire post – hilarious.

Also funny is Michelle Hodkin’s tongue-in-cheek guide on how to get noticed at a writer’s conference.

Bookity book books:

YA Highway is giving away a book from author Marilee Brothers

Book Divas is giving away a prize pack of EIGHT books (plus a tote and t-shirt).  You’ll probably have to make an account to enter, but it takes like two seconds.

A big hell yeah:

Nathan Bransford is my new hero – LOVE this post where he talks about hating when people leave non-insightful comments along the lines of “X sucks.”  (reminds me of how the overuse of the word “fail” irks me to no end)

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

5 thoughts on “That not so fresh feeling

  1. I love Nathan’s blog. He always makes me think! He’s right…at least have an intellectual argument about the book. But I feel that way about so many things in life. It takes someone with true intelligence to say, “While X resonated with many readers, I personally did not connect with the main characters. I prefer my main characters to be…” That not only sounds more diplomatic and is less insulting to the author, it actually enriches the person speaking it because it forces her to think about WHY she doesn’t like something.

  2. Agreed! If I’d written something that “sucked,” I’d much rather be told why it was bad – I can work through that in my head so much easier than being told, in general, “you suck.”

  3. AWW! Thanks for the shoutout!

    😀

    -M

  4. These are great links, thanks, Jennifer! Clicking on them all now 🙂

  5. Thanks for mentioning our summer book giveaway on Book Divas!!
    -Leah

Leave a Reply

