Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Editing in the middle of the night

Leave a comment

The other day my cousin and his family came to visit.  We were talking about morning people and Cousin said something about his mom never sleeping.  And I laughed and said, “Yeah, she was on Facebook at 2am last night.”

How do I know she was?  Because I was also on FB at 2am.  Well, actually I was on FB, on another site and reading a book, all at the same time.  I probably had my WIP open, too.  I’m a compulsive multi-tasker, even if all the tasks are kinda pointless.  When I was a teenager working in retail one of my managers made a comment that I was like him, I always had to be busy.

I have no idea why I feel more creative in the middle of the night.  I couldn’t work a graveyard shift because I’d fall asleep, but give me a ms to edit or a book to read and I’m wired awake.

Back in high school psych class I remember taking that personality test that told if you were Abstract Random, Abstract Sequential, Concrete Random or Concrete Sequential.

As a teenager I was Concrete Random.  It says (among other things) that CRs “enjoy defying those who are determined to control them” and “operate on their own time standards.”  Must have been why my 9th grade geography teacher called me and one of my friends something along the lines of “anti-establishment.” (I’m sure he meant it in the most affectionate way)

I just took the test again and it told me I was Abstract Sequential.

Somewhat true, I always have my nose in a book and I like learning for its own sake, but I suck at standardized tests and I don’t consider hands-on projects beneath me.   I do love to debate (or so I’m told) and I have been accused of being emotionally detached.

But it is this line that says it all: “Will challenge teachers’ abilities and ideas if they are not perceived as experts.”

^I apparently just like to flout authority or conventions or something.  I’ve never thought of myself that way, but I’ll take it.  I like the idea that I’m some sort of secret revolutionary.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

