Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Well, kiss my fits

4 Comments

I was browsing my local newspaper on Saturday morning and saw a story titled “Officials unanimously vote to keep book on shelves.”

Apparently the book, “Gil’s All Fright Diner” by A. Lee Martinez, has been causing some controversy at one of the area high schools.

Although “some” is a relative term because it was just one parent that complained.  She called the book “disgusting,” although the story didn’t go into further detail about her letter of complaint.  The story does mention the book contains “expletives” and “references to sex.” 

Of course this story caught my attention since I’ve got my neverending goal to read that list of books on my “banned books” page.  Gil now has an honorable mention position.

I guess it’s the whole curiosity thing – oohh….there’s something questionable in that book???  Ooh, ooh, what is it???  I wanna read it now!  Now!!!

I wonder if people who call for removal/bans on books realize they make people twice as likely to read the book, thus sorta defeating the whole purpose of their campaign.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

4 thoughts on “Well, kiss my fits

  1. haahaa, very true!

  2. Man, I’m thinking about going back to snowflakes, you may just have to be the purple one again. This generic person icon weirds me out.

  3. Pingback: The “This Cannot Turn Out Well” List | A Can of Corn or Something

Leave a Reply

