Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

The Revenge of Houseplants Everywhere

Leave a comment

Take Your Houseplant for a Walk Day (July 27) – thanks so much, random holiday, for reminding me that I killed my plant.  Maybe I’ll just take the pot of dirt for a walk.  That wouldn’t seem strange (or crazy) at all.  I *could* get rid of the pot of dirt, but I’m convinced my plant is going to miraculously start growing again.

My superpower of the week is bringing houseplants back to life.

Thing I’m sure I’ve heard of before, so we’ll call this a rediscovery:

Mr. Breakfast.com

And as if it’s not awesome enough to have a whole website about breakfast, the awesomeness is double-rainbowed by having a whole section about cereal! 

The Cereal Project

When I was a kid, I thought Tony the Tiger was pretty much THE coolest thing ever.  I still kinda do.  A talking tiger that hocks corn flakes covered in sugar – hell yeah!

Random TV Promo of the week:

I saw a preview for this new fall show, No Ordinary Family.  What caught my attention was the father saying something about the family needing to spend more time together so they were taking “a sunset tour of the rain forest.”

Um, is this something families do frequently?  My family’s idea of spending time together is going to Costco.  Occasionally going to the movies.  Once, when we were really adventurous, we went to Gettysburg. 

But the rain forest?  Really?

Laugh of the week:

New Spice

Finally, the “I hate summer, but not this part about it” thing (note: heat index in the DC area today = 105.  Right now it’s 87 degrees + 60% humidity.  *Great* to know it will only get hotter and more uncomfortable):

Oh yeah, almost forgot the thing that’s not bad:

Fresh veges from the garden

(not my garden, I can’t even keep a houseplant alive, but it is where my veges came from) 

I’ve got about 4 tons of zucchini (and one lonely lil’ squash) and lots of goodness to make with it!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

Leave a Reply

