Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

I’m late to the party

2 Comments

You know those things that everyone else is doing, but you swear you’re not going to (like drugs or watching Avatar?)

Well, that “I Write Like” thing that floated around last week was my thing.  But I cracked, I caved under my own curiosity. 

And not just with one thing, I was copying and pasting text into that sucka like there was no tomorrow.  My blog is like David Foster Wallace, one of my work-in-progresses is like Vladimir Nabokov and another like Douglas Adams.

Nabokov?  That seems awfully random to me.

Just for fun I typed in lines from SpongeBob Squarepants and…Chuck Palahniuk.

Anyway, here’s my (short) round-up of links:

Writing advice:

YA Highway has advice for creating tension (plus there’s a pic of one of my heroes, John McClane).

Fun Contest:

Dystel and Goderich is having a fun book poll type thingy, go check it out and vote for your favs.

Music, music, music – and it’s FREEE—EEE!  And near Dee—Cee-eee! 

Virgin Mobile Fest tix go on sale July 24 at 10am. 

Huh, I just noticed on the VMF page that there’s a unicorn shooting what appears to be lightning bolts out of his horn.  I thought “his horn,” then immediately searched the Internet to see why I assumed all unicorns were male. (which, from a biological standpoint doesn’t make sense, but it’s a unicorn, so whatever)

Conclusion after Search: I still don’t flippin’ know.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

2 thoughts on “I’m late to the party

  1. When I do things like that I get accused of having ADHD!

  2. Yeah, I’ve probably been accused of that once…or twice…or more. I was checking out your blog – congrats on the book!

Leave a Reply

