Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

The Hunt is On

Leave a comment

My contract will soon be expiring at my current job, so I’ve started job hunting.

Job Searching = sweaty palms and just below the surface panic.

Well, not the actual searching part, but the idea of getting dressed in something other than PJs, having an interview and sounding hire-worthy and not like a rambling freak, and then (if luck is there) the actual job with all its new stuff/people.

For almost a year now I’ve worked from home. I wake up when I feel like it, I walk down the hall to my office, I shuffle around in slippers, and I take breaks whenever…

It’s true, I talk to myself way more than I should since I don’t have co-workers, and I miss not having vacation days and stuff like that (right now it’s “if you don’t work, you don’t get paid” which is a little annoying at times). And I’d kinda like to use those college degrees I worked so very hard to get.

But I’ve always had this problem with balancing work and writing. I have no idea how to do it.

Some days I just want to stay curled on the couch with my laptop, running the lives of imaginary people in imaginary places.

Right now I can do that. But once I’m back in the land of responsible adult, I need to find a good balance.

Scary!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

Leave a Reply

