Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Beautiful Day

Leave a comment

Today is my brother’s 14th bday,  so it’s only fitting that my R(etro)A(angst)D(iscussion) include a memory like this:

July 15, 2002 – [lil bro] got a cool present from one of my aunts– it’s basically like a kids version of that game ‘Bop It,’ except with a face. Hard to explain w/o seeing it– just know I RULE at that game! *Clenches fist in victory…YES!*

 ^So good to know I can kick a six-year-old’s ass at a game.

 Sticking with the childhood theme, here is a random observation of one of the staples of my youth:

 July 12, 2003
9:01a

So, the other day…
[Significant other] and I are flipping channels and we stop on Mr. Rogers b/c he’s “presumably” out of his “neighborhood” at a grocery store in PA.
 

He wanders around the store, sportin’ his cardigan…strangely enough, everyone else he passes and greets is also wearing a cardigan.

He points out all the fruits and veges…lemons and limes are 2 for a quarter…all handwritten signs…

He greets the store manager, who’s not in a sweater, but instead an ugly striped shirt, and they go into the stock room so Mr. Rog can be amazed at the conveyor belt.

He goes to check out [no scanners, old school scales, all prices hand typed into the cash register, b/c this clip is prob rather old]

He buys milk, bananas, and one container of yogurt.

The whole point of this?

I was frightened at his calm demeanor outside of the “neighborhood.”

 ^Sometimes I take notes on things I’m watching, I’m not sure why.  I’m pretty sure I have major commentary for the movie “Super Fly” stuffed in a notebook somewhere.

^^I was so impressed by Mr. Rogers as a small child that my first cat was named Mr. Rogers.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

Leave a Reply

