Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

I visualize myself in six months…reading a letter to me, from me

Leave a comment

I’ve got a mix and match of stuff this week for RocsDays – a lil’ bit of this, a lil’ bit of that.

On the book front:

An excerpt of Sherry Ficklin’s upcoming YA novel, Foresight, is up on her publisher’s page, and there’s also lots of cool stuff you can buy, like t-shirts and posters!

Perhaps THE biggest, baddest book contest EVER – this link might not work if you don’t have Facebook.  If you don’t have a FB, it’s worth it to get one, just for this contest alone.  WIN A YEARS WORTH OF BOOKS!  48 writers, 4 winners.  Pure awesome.  DEADLINE to enter: tomorrow (July 2).

Photographers and nature lovers:

National Wildlife Federation is having a photo contest – deadline is July 6.  Why isn’t there a category for the most engaging cat photos?  Do cats count as wildlife??? 

For writers:

Writer’s Digest made me think this week with their post “9 Questions to Ask Your Main Character” and with their Weekly Writing Prompt which was:

Write a letter to yourself that you will open in six months.  Include your current accomplishments and concerns, and remind yourself of one thing from today that you want to make sure “future you” does not forget.  You can post your response (750 words or fewer) in the WD Forum

I’ve been silently interviewing characters in my head and writing imaginary letters to myself for days.  It’s actually a bit maddening.

Dear me in six months, did you finish the HP series yet?  Are you happy that it’s no longer hot outside?  I bet you’re complaining about the cold now, aren’t you?  No winning with you, woman!

Finally, I read about vision boards.   I’ve read about them before.  And I thought the idea seemed a little silly.  It still seems a little bit silly, but I like arts and crafts, so I’ve decided I’m going to make one.  Not sure what my theme/goal is yet, but I’ll figure it out.  And when I finally get around to making this, I’ll take a picture.  So if this works, I can have visual proof.  And if it doesn’t, I have something to glare at.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

