Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

O to Independence Day

Leave a comment

I need some sort of cool retro music, something 70’s game-showy.

Some history: My first journal was started on a random page in a yellow notebook that I called “Diary Written.”  This was on March 17, 1988 – I was nine. 

But I’m not digging through old notebooks.  I’ve kept an electronic journal since 2001 – I’m just control f’ing. 

This is one of those, “where did I get this from?” statements:

July 4, 2004 @ 11:11pm:

So, apparently cops around here don’t care about people setting off illegal fireworks. It was a virtual visual smorgasbord outside.

^um, I’m sure it was.

July 3, 2005:

O, how funny would it be if I ever auditioned for a play and read that dumbass president speech from Independence Day? I’d laugh my ass off. But, I’ll NEVER forget how fun it was to watch that opening night at the theater b/c everyone was cheering and freaking out at certain parts and I still get so excited about the dog leaping through the air just in time.

^The “O” was because I was watching an O’s game.  For those of you not familiar with the tradition – during the singing of the national anthem at Camden Yards (and Memorial Stadium before that), fans scream out, “O!” really loudly during the “Oh say does that star spangled…” part. 

Just so you know, I LOVE the movie Independence Day.  I’d say it was a guilty viewing pleasure, but seriously, I just love it and I’m not ashamed to admit it.  That evening in the movie theater still ranks as one of the most fun nights of my life.  So if this is true and ID2 AND ID3 are a reality, I am doing a little happy dance.

It’s the little things in life, it really is.

Happy birthday, Gary Busey!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

