Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Library Advocacy Day

Leave a comment

Library Advocacy Day – June 29, 2010, Washington DC. 

I’ve got great memories of being a kid and my mom taking my older brother and me to the library – we were obsessed with “Three by the Sea” by Edward and James Marshall.  Our library had several copes and my mom (and the library) didn’t mind when we felt compelled to check out more than one copy.  I still love this book – it’s hilarious.

I say it all the time and I will say it again – how awesome are libraries?  Seriously.  How many other places/people do you know that let you come in and borrow things for free like that?  Sure you need to sign up for a library card, but it’s basically like good faith.

I live in a county with a main library and community branches.  The main branch is about 15 miles from my house, which isn’t far, but my local branch is only about a mile.  I can get stuff sent to my library from any of the other locations, just by asking.  The even more amazing part – except for the main library, all five of the branches are operated by volunteers.  Now that’s dedication!

I’m swamped with work and can’t make it to D.C. tomorrow, but I’ll be making a donation to my local branch.

Libraries go out of their way for us – we should go out of our way for them.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

Leave a Reply

