Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What would Santiago do?

Leave a comment

So I’ve decided to make my Wednesdays “TripDays” because YA Highway always has a topic for their Road Trip Wednesdays.

This week’s topic is:

If your favorite fictional character submitted to FMyLife, what would they write?

Well, being unhip, it took me about five minutes to work through what FMyLife even stood for.  Then someone asked me to spell, “I Cup.”  So I said, “Easy!  I-C-U-P….huh?  Oh, I get it!”  I’m a little laggy today.

Anyway, my favorite book is The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway.  It’s pretty f’ing heartbreaking and nothing I came up with really fit.  I mean, what can I say, other than:

Today I caught this amazing fish, the catch of a lifetime, and I fought and struggled to bring it back to shore with me, but by the time I got back, there was nothing left of the fish.

I want to bawl now.

So I started thinking about one of my favorite movies:

Today I found this walk-in freezer full of ice cream, but when I went in to get some, a dead guy fell on me.

Today I found a bunch of 50 dolla bills, but they turned out to be fake.

Today I got the chance to pull my girlfriend up on a bucket, but when I pulled up the bucket, she’d given me back my sweater and run off with a bunch of losers.

Today I found One-Eyed Willy’s treasure, but so did the murderous criminal family, the Fratellis.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

Leave a Reply

