Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

One a Day Reflections

Leave a comment

I started “One a Day for 30 Days” on May 11 as a way to write down at least one interesting thing a day that happened to me over the next 30 days. 

So what did happen to me?  (this is not a complete list)

Long story short:

Reconnected with old friends, made a ton of homemade goodness (including a first-time attempt at homemade pasta), won an Amazon gift card, was a complete badass driver when my clutch went out, watched an 80’s rock musical performed by high schoolers, read a “classic” book, had my DVR die, watched a few Wonderfalls episodes on DVD to console myself, got a new DVR, cursed photo-tag on FB, was happy for my friend when she found out she was having a baby girl, entered lots of book giveaways, went to a wedding with the most amazing vows I’ve ever heard, made a work schedule, veered off schedule, revamped my blog, interviewed an artist, invented SummySeries, walked a lap for Relay for Life, went to a Tupperware party and got free stuff, finished a writing project.

What did I learn:

I am scared of thunderstorms but I love rain, I do not like Merlot to drink but it’s good for cooking, some made-from scratch cake recipes are gross, Canadians make bizarre horror movies (Pontypool, based on the Tony Burgess book), I’ve got some really great memories from my directory assistance days, I close my eyes when I plug things in because I can’t stand to see the sparks, Morrissey is still awesome, I often wish for superpowers, I dream of Apollo Creed being real and coming to my house to keep my spirits up when I get discouraged.

What I observed about my family that makes them awesome:

I texted my teenage brother about Dio dying because he actually knows who Dio is.

My older bro is psyched about the movie version of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.

My dad listens to me ramble about coal-mining disaster books and adds to the conversation by telling me other coal-mining disaster facts.

My mom enjoys high school rock musicals as much as I do.

Why did I miss those three days?

Day 18 (May 29) – was at an out-of-town wedding

Day 24 (June 4) – I completely forgot

Day 30 (June 10) – no clue, think I was in a bad mood and spent the whole day sulking over something or another

Conclusion:

  1. I need to do things like this more often, it’s really got me back into journaling. 
  2. I am insanely long-winded.
Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

Leave a Reply

