Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

You Know You’re an Adult When…

1 Comment

I was watching “The Sandlot” the other day.  It came out when I was 14 and back then I thought the guy who played Benny was cute.  Now I watch it and I’m all, “OMG, that rat-tag bunch of kids are SOOO f’ing adorable, I want to adopt all of them!”

Then there’s “My Girl” with Anna Chlumsky and Macaulay Culkin.  I saw it in the theater when I was 12 and cried at the sad part (won’t spoil it, I seriously hate when someone reviews a book or movie and completely gives away the ending/twist/whatever without any warning whatsoever).  I happened to catch it earlier this year and cried again, but this time because of a completely different perspective.  And I sympathized with the character of Shelly a whole lot more.

I like my movies like I like my TV shows and my books – a little funny, a little weepy, a little quirky and with a lot of heart.  (think “Freaks and Geeks” or “Wonderfalls”)

Speaking of TV, I can’t wait until tonight – Bio Channel is showing “Jaws: The Inside Story” at 9.  One of my favorite movies ever with one of my favorite characters ever (Quint).  He’s smart, tough, resourceful, a great storyteller and more than a little crazy – what’s not to like?

And speaking of fictional characters, useless trivia (is there a better kind?): Real names of 23 Fictional Characters.

Bibendum is (one of) my fictional nemeses.  Huh.  “Nemeses” is the plural of nemesis (apparently), but I really want to add “es” to the end, so it reads nemeses-es.  Anyway, I’m completely creeped out by Bibendum.

In the world of blogs:

Rebecca Behrens at Vicarious Reader is giving away an ARC of Delirium by Lauren Oliver. 

Heather at See Heather Write cracked me up with this post: You Might Be Married to a Writer if…

Kate Hart at My Sphere of Domesticity had this blog post about finding “the yellow.”  I thought: I don’t own ANYTHING yellow, I can’t possibly.  But I do and I look at it every day and it makes me happy every day.

Example 1:  Who doesn’t love owls?

Example 2:

My husband and I make up random alphabet magnet messages to see how long it’ll take the other to notice.

 **Posting my One a Day in 30 Reflections tomorrow!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

One thought on “You Know You’re an Adult When…

  1. The Sandlot! Despite hating sports as a kid, I adored that movie. “My Girl,” too. Thanks for spurring me on a trip down memory lane. 🙂

Leave a Reply

