Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

I watched scenes from the Goonies to motivate myself this morning

Leave a comment

Yes, I am obsessed with all things pop culture.  Yes, I believe I DO mention a book, movie, song, or something similar in nearly every single entry.  I should start hiding references in entries, like a “Where’s Waldo” of sorts.

Anyway, it’s LoDays, so here’s the Books are Fun warehouse sale reminder – this Saturday (19th) 8am-2pm, 241 Clear View Lane in Strasburg.  I did such a tremendous job of reminding myself of last weekend’s sale that I forgot to go.

Link to the Shenandoah Valley Music Festival 2010 concert calendar.  The venue is down a long and winding road (intentional Beatles reference), so heads up for all of you that suffer from car sickness.

Random out-of-state shout-out: West Boylston, Mass.  I have never been to Massachusetts, I am an Orioles fan so I would probably be pelted with canned goods (or just laughed at), if I ever went anywhere near Boston.  BUT, there are some nice things in Massachusetts, like the band, Varsity Drag, fronted by one of the coolest guys ever, Ben Deily, who was kind enough to let me interview him back in March.

Varsity Drag is part of the Arts Rock Summer Concert Series at Goodale Park.  Saturday, Jule 10 @ 7pm.  Full schedule here.

Much closer to home (although you’re very likely to get stuck in traffic on the way) is the Evan Dando show this Friday at the Black Cat in D.C.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

