Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

For the writer/reader

Leave a comment

I thought this was a really interesting read – Mary Kole explains what it’s really like to be an agent. 

The American Independent Writers 2010 conference is this Saturday, June 12 at GW University in D.C. (note to those unfamiliar with D.C. – take the metro.  All those horror stories of driving in D.C. are true, trust me).  Website is here, pdf of program is here.

A 3-Day Novel contest is taking place September 4-6, 2010.  Thank you, friends to the north (and, yes, this time I mean Canada).

New segment over at Book Divas – Ask a New Author.  It’s three novelists who have recently published their debut novels and who want to answer all your writing-related questions. 

Note: I read “The Local News” by Miriam Gershow (one of the new authors) and it was fantastic.  I’m adding the other debut novels to my list of “need to read.”

Adventures in Children’s Publishing is having a “novel opening” contest.  Details here.

YA Highway is at it again, giving away books (gotta love that!). 

Ink is also giving away books!  Lots of them, at that!

Finally, I debated posting some links to the “must-reads” this summer, but I’m afraid if I click on the links, I will be crushed under the weight of my ever-expanding “must read” list.  So I am ignoring the lists.  Besides, I’ve got Harry Potter to keep my company this summer.

Okay, I lied, I am posting one link, just because it’s an older list (2003, I think) and contains a bunch of books I’ve already read.

According to the National Endowment for the Humanities, these are “summertime favorites” for grades 9-12.  Oedipus Rex with it patricide and eye-gouging.  Hamlet with its fratricide.  Les Misérables with its bread-stealing…

I read those three in high school and enjoyed them, but I have to wonder if teens actively seek out these stories?  I definitely wouldn’t have read these books, if I hadn’t been assigned to read them.  

What are kids being assigned to read in school nowadays, I wonder?  Maybe I can pull a Josie Grossie and infiltrate a high school somewhere???

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

Leave a Reply

