Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

TabDays – SummySeries!

5 Comments

I’m a hater of hot weather.  Humidity and glaring sun are not my idea of fun.  I usually spend the entire summer complaining.

But this year, in addition to complaining, I’ve decided I’ll give myself something fun to do.

So I’ve dubbed the summer of 2010 as:

SummySeries!  (I just made that up because my original title “Summer of Series” is apparently a big thing at a ton of libraries.  Yes, I am aware that the name sounds like Rachael Ray got a hold of it).

This came about because I checked out “Rocket Boys” by Homer Hickam, Jr. to read and realized that it’s actually the first of three.

So I got to thinking…

I’ve never read any of the Harry Potter books, so HP will become my new BFF this summer.

I’ll also try to tackle the Hunger Games series, since this is the big IT thing right now.

And “Pretty Little Liars” TV Show is debuting soon.  I probably won’t watch it, but just in case I do, I’ll read those books, also.

I’m making a new blog page to list the books in order, so I can keep track of what I’m reading.  I’ll put a few series up for now.  If I somehow manage to read more, I’ll add more.  But I have a feeling Harry will be taking up quite a lot of my time this SummySeries.

Random thought of the week: Superpowers.  I need them.  This week I needed the ability to shoot fire or lasers out of my eyes and hands.  That would be amazing.  

Random local news story of the week (full story here): Strasburg is going gooey over the Nats pitcher, Stephen Strasburg.  They want him to visit so they can rename the town after him during his visit.  Um…okay?  If I ever become crazy famous, can I come back to visit and have the town named after me during that time?  That sounds kinda fun.

Pet Peeve of the week: The overuse of the word “fail.”  Can I please watch a YouTube video or read a story on the Internet without some lame-ass commenting, “fail.”  WTF does this even mean?  I mean, yes, I know what it means, but it’s like this excuse for any idiot to express displeasure, but without having to back up their reasoning.  Lazy critical thinking = Fail!

Laugh of the week: The dude over at The Oatmeal is freaking hilarious.  He has all these quizzes, “How many ____ could you take in a fight?”  And this week he had Justin Biebers.  I could take 23.  I feel pretty awesome right about now – I could beat up a small teenage boy.

Your useless trivia for the day: Today is drive-in movie day. 

Why today, you ask?  Because on June 6, 1933, the first drive-in theater opened in Camden, New Jersey. 

Oh, okay, you say.  But does Virginia even have a drive-in theater?  Didn’t those things go away in, like, the 1950’s? 

Why no!  According to Wikipedia, Virginia still has 10 of them!  And wouldn’t you know it, the Family Drive-in in Stephens City is on this list!

Sorry, not headed out there today – that’s a TabDays field trip for the future.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

5 thoughts on “TabDays – SummySeries!

  1. my summyseries’ always seem to ‘fail’ i gotta start finishing books before i start new ones!

  2. oh, and i’ll add ‘learn how to use reply boxes on websites’ to my list

  3. Don’t feel bad, I can’t figure out how to change my settings so I don’t have to approve every comment…

  4. i guess we can leave the ‘perfecting’ of all this to the future generations and enjoy mucking it up for now!

  5. OMG, you’ve NEVER read Harry Potter? It’s like you’re from another planet or something…lol! You’ll have to let me know what you think!

    also, I got 21 Beibers. Guess I’m kinda a wuss.

Leave a Reply

