Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

RocsDays – Get on the orange highway or risk getting Rickrolled!

Leave a comment

Agent Nathan Bransford is having a “Chase/Action Writing Contest Extravaganza” over at his cool, orange blog.  Amaze him with your scene in 500 words or less and you could win a darn cool prize!  Act quickly because entries have to be posted by 4pm PST on Thursday, June 3 (that’s tomorrow, folks!)

And, of course, don’t forget that YA Highway’s amazing prizes are still up for grabs for a few more days.  They’ve got prizes for readers, writers, and some just for good ol’ fashioned fun.

You know, up until a few months ago, I was apparently living in the dark, because I had never heard of a book trailer.  If someone had asked me what one was, I would have said, “Uh…dunno?”  But now I know and I’ve just watched a new one and so should you!

The link is HERE for Foresight, which goes on sale this September.  Author Sherry Ficklin is giving away cool prizes all summer to celebrate the book’s release and you can find more info at her blog.

^I promise, the video is the real link, I will not be Rickrolling anyone.  Rickrolling (this seriously has its own Wikipedia page?) – something else I had never heard of until someone got me on April Fool’s Day.  I felt old because I didn’t see what the big deal was and why the kids 10 years younger than me were snickering.  I think Rick Astley is cool and I was quite pleased to find myself at one of his videos. 

In the unique world of writing:

My sister-in-law sent me a Washington Post article about online dating assistants.  Like it says in the article, it’s like a modern day Cyrano de Bergerac.  I have to say, if I was the person on the receiving end of those quip-filled emails, I’d be pretty annoyed to know my date wasn’t the one writing those witty sentiments.

Book Review:

On a side note: I went to the library yesterday and checked out a stack of books.  It’s the greatest feeling to leave the library with a big stack of books.  And it’s also a great feeling to have an Amazon gift card, although I have no clue what to buy – too many choices! 

I am ready to dive into a new book as soon as I finish the last 20 pages or so of Tropic of Cancer, aka Tropic of Huh? by Henry Miller.

 TOC is considered a classic.  Back in the day it was considered crazy graphic because of its descriptions of sex.  It even led to an obscenity trial in the U.S. in 1961.  I expected to be offended and shocked.  I wasn’t.  I wonder what this says about me?

I’ve been reading reviews of the book and I’ve read everything from “genius” to “misogynistic garbage.”

The misogyny doesn’t bother me so much because of the time period it was published (1934 originally, 1961 in the U.S.) and considering I love Hemingway and he was very “roar, roar, beat on chest manly.”  And since the book is “supposedly” fiction (although it seems that is debated).

There are some chapters that have action and plot; other chapters are like a stream of consciousness (a la Faulkner, only way less coherent).  Some of the language of the rambles is actually quite poetic, but I got a little lost (and bored) in many passages.

Maybe this book is supposed to be some sort of social commentary on how disaffected the artistic community was back then and I’m too dense or unenlightened to understand the point.  That’s fine.  I don’t understand emo hair either. 

Or maybe Henry Miller liked the idea that his unedited thoughts were considered profound and he laughed all the way to the bank.  That’s also fine.  And rather amusing.

I found this line from the book fitting: “Today I awoke from a sound sleep with curses of joy on my lips, with gibberish on my tongue…”

I see the point that TOC was “ground-breaking” when it was released because it was a style not seen before.  It was something fresh and new.  That’s cool.  Not the worst book I’ve ever read, but I won’t be scrambling to read Tropic of Capricorn anytime soon.   

P.S. The title of this blog post is nonsense and I don’t care.

P.P.S. I made what I thought was a brilliant observation the other day about “emo hair” looking like a modern-day mullet.  Not so brilliant.  When I looked up the connection online, many others had already observed this and way before I did.  Oh well.  The glory was mine for a short while.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

