Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Summer Goals

Leave a comment

Goal 1: Revamp my blog.

Check.  It’s still a can of corn (or something), but I wanted to change the URL, so I seemed a tad more professional.  I imported my posts from the other URL and now everything will be taking place here.  Hurray!  This calls for the “shameless self promotion” category.

Okay, so that was really my only goal, but I did have a secondary reason for changing the blog URL. 

Motivation.

I hate to admit this, but I am a control freak and a procrastinator at the same time – is this an odd combination?

I am one of those people that need to have a list, a set schedule, otherwise I procrastinate.  When I was working full-time and going to grad school full-time, I was kicking butt.  Now that I set my own hours, I’m just sorta…eh…I’ll do that later.

So I need to get back into regular office hours and I think one way to keep myself on a set schedule is to post regularly. 

This is what I have in mind so far, June will be my “beta” month.

Mondays aka LoDays.  Local Days.  I’ve always got info on events, a lot of them local.  I’ll save ‘em all up and post them on Mondays.  If I don’t have any events, I’ll find something to ramble about, I’m sure.

Wednesdays aka RocsDays.  Reading and Other Cool Stuff Days.  As you can see from my sidebar, I’ve got a reading goal.  I pick 50 because it’s about a book a week.  On Wednesdays, I’ll talk about my current read or about what I want to read, I’ll pass along writing tips I’ve stumbled upon, or I’ll chew the fat about other media (TV anyone?  I am a TV junkie). 

(Do people actually use the phrase “chew the fat?”  Well, I just have, so bully for me.  Yeah, that’s right, I just used the word “bully.”  JT brought sexy back, I’m bringing the 1800’s back.)

Fridays (maybe Saturday or Sunday, if I don’t have time on Friday) aka TabDays.  Take a Break Days.  I live in this awesome place called the Shenandoah Valley and there are tons of places to see.  So on TabDays I might be taking a field trip or I might just be doing something fun like telling you a joke or boring you with useless trivia.  I love useless trivia.  Like…

Did you know each ear of corn (unless it’s mutated) has an even number of rows???

So there it goes.  I’ve got some work to do, but I’ll be posting my first LoDays later this evening.

Bully!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

