Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

WordPress smiley freaks me out

Leave a comment

Don’t ask me why, it just does.

So it’s late and I should be in bed, but where’s the fun in sleep?  I’m pretending like I’m 21 again.  That was much easier when I was actually 21 and had way more energy.  Because I would be at a concert now, drinking Sierra Mist and eating snack mix, not munching on milkless generic Oats & More.

So what’s the scoop?  Side note: I’m reading “Tropic of Cancer” and I’m halfway through and confused, but it does make me think – How awesome would it have been to work in newspapers way back when? 

Another side note, since I mentioned concerts:  Evan Dando is playing at the Black Cat in DC on Friday, June 18.  His February show at Iota in Arlington was cancelled because of that pesky blizzard.

Now onto other things!

Do the Write Thing for Nashville has t-shirts now!  This is happy news for me, since the auctions got too pricey for me and my starving artist (writer) salary.  A t-shirt is more in my price range.

If you’re into YA books, (insert zombie voice) must visit YA Highway Blog

Seriously, though, what better time to check them out then during their massive anniversary giveaway spree?

Checking out some of the favorite YA books comments, I am apparently the only person in existence that has not read The Hunger Games.  (and who has never watched an episode of Lost) 

Some of the YA Highway bloggers are having giveaways on their individual blogs, so check out:

Michelle Schusterman and
Kirsten Hubbard and
Kristin Miller

In local news:  The Bowman-Shannon Cultural Arts Center will open in Mount Jackson in August. 

This is very cool considering Mount Jackson has a population (according to their website) of 1,870. 

Hurray for creativity and hurray for sleep.  I feel old.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

