Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Why work when I can blog instead?

Leave a comment

It’s Friday and I’m feeling like it’s Friday. 

So what’s new in the world of me?  Well, on Wednesday one of my local library systems, Handley Regional, announced the selection for this year’s “One Book, One Community.”  This program has been around since 2003 and it’s a cool concept – the community reads the same book over the summer and then gets together in the fall for book discussions, dramatized readings, guest speakers, etc.

I must confess I only heard about this program a few years ago, when I was working at one of the local newspapers (the *other* Winchester paper).  I thought the idea seemed a tad cheesy when I first heard about it, but the more I read about it, the more I was convinced it was cool.

So this year I thought: I’m gonna do!  I’m gonna read the book!

Good and bad news about the selection:  It’s “To Kill a Mockingbird” by Harper Lee.

Good news is that it’s an enjoyable book.  Bad news is I’ve read it.  I was kinda hoping for something new, not a selection that seems so “predictable.”  But smoothing out the ruffles for me was the knowledge that Mary Badham (Scout in the movie) would be a guest speaker at an event.  That’s pretty darn cool.

Also in the world of books and libraries: Strasburg Community Library book sale going on NOW.  Today and tomorrow 10am-4pm, according to the Shenandoah County Library website, no book over $2. 

*heads out the door with cash in hand*

And still more in the world of books (because how can a world full of books ever be wrong?):

May 15-May 31, 2010, the Green Valley Book Fair, Mt. Crawford VA (just south of Harrisonburg). 

I have not been to this book fair in so long, but I had a blast when I did go and my discount dictionary is still going strong.

Some music news because, in addition to books, the world would not go round without music:

May 22, 2010- DC101 is holding its annual Chili Cook-Off (as far as I know, they’re still giving away tickets on-air).  The line-up for this year: Stone Temple Pilots, Alice in Chains, Cage the Elephant, Switchfoot, Anberlin, and Tears of Mars.

Hmm…I know the show must go on, but it’s weird to think about AIC without Layne Staley.  I was “coming of age” when the whole “grunge” phase hit, so all the so-called grunge bands like this will always be sorta captured in time for me.  I guess it’s the same feeling with people that watched Journey back in the day versus watching Journey now, without Steve Perry (yes, you purists, I know Gregg Rolie was there first).

Speaking of grunge AND classic rock, wouldn’t you know it, I’ve got commentary on both.

Well, not really grunge, I guess, just remember when Lollapalooza used to be an actual tour?  I can’t afford to go to Chicago just so I can see Soundgarden after all these years.  Oddly (or obsessively) I still remember where I was when I heard the band had broken up. 

But classic rock, more specifically Molly Hatchet, yes, them I can go see!  (speaking of altered line-ups…)

August 7, 2010: Warren County Fairgrounds, in good ol’ Helltown, VA (aka Front Royal). 

This is why I love county fairs – I get to see classic bands that formed before I was born and whose heyday happened when I was too young to be allowed to go to shows.  Thank you, county fairgrounds, and local establishments that have allowed me to see Kansas and Lynyrd Skynyrd, among others, over the years.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

Leave a Reply

