Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

My perceived idea

2 Comments

So I’ve decided that for the next 30 days, I’m going to record (privately) something interesting that happens every day.  At the end of these 30 days, I will either laugh about all the fun I’ve had, or be sadly disappointed at how boring my life is.  In any case, it gets me back into journal-writing, which I have been struggling with lately.  I have personal writer’s block or something.

I won’t bore everyone that reads my blog with an update every day, but at the end of the 30, I’ll have some insight (maybe) to pass along.  Note: my idea of “interesting” is rather vanilla.  I don’t have the time, money or nerves to do things like skydiving every day.  This is more of an observational thing, I guess. 

^The idea popped into my head earlier today as I was digging through old journals to find an account of something funny that happened in 2001.  Ah…those days of being 22 and living on Sierra Mist, snack mix, and a few hours of sleep each night while working as a directory assistance operator…good times.

In other news:

I read some info about Paper Lantern Lit, which is a literary development company.  The whole idea is really interesting to me – it’s basically…they come up with a book idea in-house, dip into their pool of writers and they find a writer that would be a good fit.  I’m doing a poor job of explaining, but read here for a better explanation of what they’re all about and click here to submit a sample and be considered by their editorial staff.

DEADLINES:

The deadline for the 79th Writer’s Digest Annual Writing Contest is almost here –this Friday, May 14, 2010.

Residents of Virginia, D.C., Maryland, and Delaware: win a chance to play at Lilith Fair!  Chicks only, upload your song by May 22, 2010 – full details here.

Finally, this isn’t new info, but I was reading it again the other day and it’s still great advice, so I wanted to post a link to “7 Reasons Agents Stop Reading Your First Chapter.”  It’s interesting that this was specifically aimed at novel openings because at least a few of these reasons could also apply to news stories or magazine articles, or to nearly all writing, fiction or non-fiction.  There’s gotta be something that grabs the audience.  Or sticks with them.  I’ve found that, even with novels (or movies) that I haven’t necessarily liked (or understood) that there’s been something about them that’s still with me.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

2 thoughts on “My perceived idea

  1. Oooh, I love the link about why agents stop reading your first chapter! Great resource!

  2. Hey Jenniffer! You won the giftcard drawing over at the Circular File! Email me the addy where you want it sent!
    ~Sherry

Leave a Reply

