Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

April…not just for fools

Leave a comment

It’s the last day of March and I have yet to write anything for Women’s History Month, so in conjunction with National Poetry Month (April 2010), I mention Virginia’s current Poet Laureate, Claudia Emerson.  I’ve never read any of her work, but in celebration of NPM, I will be reading one of her books.

NPM was started in 1996 and the Academy of American Poet’s website lists 30 ways to celebrate, one of which is to “put a poem in a letter,” which should be easy enough since April is also National Card and Letter Writing Month.

Ah…letters…middle school memories of passing notes. 

“Do you like me?” 

YES                         MAYBE                                 NO

Although, sadly, I don’t actually recall ever getting a love note, I think I was more likely to be passing notes with my girl friends about how bored we were.

Anyway, what else is going on in April?

Well, it’s International Guitar Month.  Sorry, I really don’t know what this entails, perhaps air guitar for those of us who can’t play?

And it’s Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Month, so do something nice for your furry friends like donating to your local animal shelter, adopting a pet in need, or spaying/neutering your pet (insert Bob Barker voice).

Tons more for April, but that’s all I’ve got for now.  I’ve got to rest before I start with my letter writing…

Don’t forget to wear blue on Friday for World Autism Awareness Day!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

Leave a Reply

